My Book is For Sale!!!

kk

So The Purest Blood is finally for sale! I can’t really believe it….it just does not seem real to me.

There is, however, a catch. As-is, the novel is un-edited.

I know that is a huge risk to take, but to be honest, I thought on it for a long time. Most editors cost by word, and my novel is currently sitting at 118665 words…so the one editor would have been about $4000. Ouch, am I right? Well, as much as it pains me, I currently can not spend that kind of money. I wish I could, but I just do not have it; and after thinking about it, I realized that I can not spend that kind of money on a book that may not go anywhere. I do understand that you have to spend money to make money; but as of right now, my money is spoken for. I am going on a trip to Japan in September, so I need to save every penny I can to make that trip the best.

I do have hope, though. CreateSpace(the company that prints the books) does let you edit the file at any time, so hopefully friends and family who buy it will be kind enough to point out any typos they might see. Perhaps, if I am lucky, these friends and family will help me edit my book just because they want to. That is; if they buy it. I don’t believe in pressuring people to spend money, so I won’t ask anyone if they have or have not purchased it. Most people I know in my age-group are struggling for money just as much as I am, so I will have to wait and see.

What about all of you?  Did any of you write a book and pay for an editor? How much money do you think is too much to spend on a gamble like this?

Edit:

The book is now live for Amazon.com, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.Fr, Amazon.de, Amazon.es, and should be on kindle within about 14 hours.

2 thoughts on “My Book is For Sale!!!

  1. bookshelfbattle says:

    I wouldn’t drop $4000 on an editor and I doubt many who are just getting their start do either. You might look around to see if you can find someone more reasonably priced.

    If that’s not an option, at least have a few people look at it for free. Of course, this is a situation where you get where you pay for and a friend who’s looking at it for free isn’t going to want to give you the kind of criticism you need that a more professional person would.

    $4000 would be outrageous but you might find someone who could help you out for a price you can afford.

    Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

