Camp NaNoWriMo

For those who don’t know what Camp NaNoWriMo is, I’ll explain quickly. Every year, November is National Novel Writing Month where authors try and write the first draft of their novel in a month. Well, just that one month was not enough for writers, so now there are two months in the summer to participate as well that go by the name “Camp NaNoWriMo.”

We are well into one of these “writing” months, and on a whim, I decided to participate with a superhero novel. I don’t plan on publishing it, so I know what many of you will want to ask next; “why bother?” Well, for the only reason I have is for practice. There are several skills I need to improve on as a writer, so to help myself do that, I am writing a novel called “Arcane,” that will be up for free on Wattpad.

Arcane is based in the future where the world has nearly been destroyed by nukeular weapons. The remaining survivors live in cities across the world, and one of these cities is where Arcane takes place. The city has no radiation in the center, and the further out you get, the more radiation.

Even though the wars are over and people are taking medicine to combat the horrible effect radiation causes, people are still dying. So, in an attempt to save everyone, a company created a “cure.” This cure is mostly nano-bots which travel through your system and repair the damage done by radiation.

However, occasionally the cells are repaired wrong, and humans with special abilities called “glitches” start appearing, but the city is not happy to have them.

The people in the city want all glitches locked away; but they have yet to realize that without them, even worse things will come.

Are any of you currently working on a novel? Are you participating in Camp NaNoWriMo? I would love to hear from you.

3 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

    • Chey Murray says:

      Oh no, you are stuck? Writers block? Want to know what has really helped me with that? Pinterest. You collect images and links in certain boards(categories). So for me, I have a board for locations(pictures that remind me of places in my novel) and one for characters(people, quotes, clothes), I also sometimes make one for plot ideas. Whenever I’m stuck, I look through the images(or add some more) and it really helps.

      I also draw my characters when I need ideas, but that one might not help if you don’t like to draw.

      I also don’t allow myself to edit. I have found that editing while you are writing kills your imagination. It awakens your inner critic, when you don’t need that at the time. Your first draft should be carried by imagination, and your second can be looked over by your editor mode. So I don’t even let myself fix spelling mistakes in the first draft.

      Thanks for the comment! I hope I made sense and helped!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

